NYR’s Currie, Hunt, Morgan to represent Canada

December 8, 2015

7:08 AM EST

North York Rangers’ defenceman Tyler Currie, and forwards Ted Hunt and Michael Morgan have been named to an Ontario Junior Hockey League All-Star squad that will face a team of selects from the Czech Republic this Friday.

The exhibiton game, to be played in Wellington, is a preperatory one for the Czechs, as they get set to go for gold in the 2015 World Junior ‘A’ Challenge in Whitby and Cobourg between Dec. 13-19.

The all-star team is made up of 1995 and 1996 birth year players from 14 OJHL clubs that are inactive on the day of the game.

There is no roster overlap between Team OJHL and Team Canada East, as Hockey Canada does not allow 20 year olds at the WJAC, and few 19 year olds.

All three participating Rangers are 1995 birth years and sit in the top 10 in scoring on the club. Additionally, Currie is tied for third among all OJHL defencemen in points with 29 through 32 contests.

Hunt is currently on a five-game point-scoring streak, and has points in all but three of the 21 games he has appeared in so far this season.

Morgan led the club in playoff scoring last season, posting four goals and nine points over the six contests.

All of them remain eligible to play Division I NCAA hockey.

Below is the full OJHL All-Star Team roster:

G – Andrew Masters (Georgetown)
G – Daniel Urbani (Trenton)

D – Justin Bean (Wellington)
D – Adam Clements (Trenton)
D – Tyler Currie (North York)
D – Daniel DeSousa (Mississauga)
D – Jon O’Hara (Whitby)
D – Jacob Panetta (Wellington)

F – Stefano Alonzi (Mississauga)
F – Mitch Emerson (Trenton)
F – Danny Hanlon (Trenton)
F – Ted Hunt (North York)
F – Brendan Jacome (Georgetown)
F – Evan Kearns (Aurora)
F – Scott Kirton (Whitby)
F – Kevin Lavoie (Trenton)
F – Theo Lewis (Cobourg)
F – Dylan Mascarin (Wellington)
F – Michael Morgan (North York)
F – Chris Sekelyk (Pickering)